Skip to content

Everything you wanted to know about T Levels

27 October 2023
Find out everything you want to know about T Levels in this handy guide.

What are T Levels?  

T Levels are a new two-year qualification for 16 to 19 year-olds that follows GCSEs.   

Equivalent to three A Levels, they have been created in collaboration with over 250 businesses and are designed to give young people a head start towards the future they want.  


What does a T Level Include?  

80% College: The majority of the T Level is based at College where students are taught by experienced subject experts in an interactive and hands-on learning environment. At College, they’ll gain in-depth knowledge into their chosen specialism, and will develop industry-relevant skills.   

20% Work Placement: The T Level includes a 45 day work placement with a local employer. The placement gives students the opportunity to gain valuable industry experience, whilst further developing their skills and knowledge employers need.   


What T Level Subjects are available?  

You can study T Levels in over 20 subject areas, all of which are available nationally.   
Here, at EKC Folkestone College, we currently offer T Levels in Business Management and Administration, Education and Childcare and Onsite Construction. 


What are the Entry Requirements?  

The entry requirements are a minimum of five GCSEs at grades 9 to 4 or equivalent, including English and Mathematics. 


How are T Levels Graded?  

Students who successfully complete a T Level will be awarded an overall grade of Pass, Merit, Distinction, or Distinction*, and receive a nationally recognised certificate.   

To achieve one of the above grades, students must complete their technical qualification (comprised of a ‘core’ component and one or more ‘occupational specialism’ components) and work placement, and meet the minimum requirements for English and mathematics (if they have not done so already).   


Is a T Level Worth the Same Number of UCAS Tariff Points as an A Level?  

One T Level is equivalent to three A Levels and is worth the same number of UCAS Tariff points overall.   

For example, if a student achieves a Distinction* in their T Level, it is equivalent to achieving three A*s at A Level. The T Level and the three A Levels are both worth 168 UCAS Tariff points.   

The table below shows how much each T Level grade is worth in UCAS Tariff points, and the equivalent A Level grades:   


UCAS Tariff points  T Level Overall Grade  A Level Grades  
168  Distinction*   
(A* on the ‘core’ and distinction in the ‘occupational specialism’)  
144  Distinction  AAA  
120  Merit  BBB  
96  Pass   
(C or above on the ‘core’)  
72  Pass   
(D or E on the ‘core’)  


What Can You Do After T Levels?  

After completing a T Level, students can enter:  

– Employment  

– University   

– An Apprenticeship  

– A Traineeship  

– Other further study  

Want to Know More?  

To learn more about T Levels, visit our T Levels page or email our friendly team: